Yokohama W Drive

The Yokohama W Drive is a High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 175,000 miles driven, and 5 tests with an average result of 13th.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 73%
Wear 76%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 75%

First On MarketMay 2007
Wheel Size14 - 18"
Width175 - 235mm
Profile50 - 65
Rolling ResistanceE - E
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)72 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The W Drive is ranked 31st of 60 Winter High Performance tyres.

Tests Included

5

Best Result

8th

Worst Result

21st

Average Result

13th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 AZ SUV Winter Tyre Test
8th of 9 tyres
  • Reasonable in the dry, but very poor snow performance.
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

2010 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
195/65R14 89 TEC72
14C inch
175/65R14C 90/88 TEB72
16 inch
195/50R16 88 VEC72
18 inch
235/60R18 107 HEC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Yokohama W Drive >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Yokohama W Drive. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Yokohama W Drive Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Audi A5 3.0 tdi quattro sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 spirited miles
Can't praise these tyres enough on my A5 Quattro they wear brilliantly, grip very well even through the last 3 summers aswell as winters. In Scotland's weather they are ideal.
Helpful 82 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2014
Given 41% while driving a BMW 335d (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
I fitted these tyres, sold to me as "premium" to a 2006 BMW 335d Touring. Expecting slight compromises over my usual Summer tyres, I drove fairly cautiously, especially as Winter tyres need a lot of "scrubbing in." What I got was a set of tyres, costing me over £500 that made my car genuinely dangerous. The traction light was constantly on despite gentle driving and the car fishtailed so badly that we avoided overtaking anything. The tyres are back with Yokohama for analysis but I fear they will just be sent back and I will have wasted a lot of money. I'm sure they work fine in snow and ice but they are dreadful in warmer conditions which we experience commonly in a UK Winter. I will update if Yokohama do offer a refund but I am expecting to have to try and sell these terrible tyres on. I'm an IAM and Police trained driver and have owned the car five years so know it very well.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2013
Given 76% while driving a BMW 5 Series 2007 (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Overall I am happy with my winter tires, this is the second winter that I've had them on the car and boxing day was the first day I have driven in snow and I am very glad to say they were excellent.

Previously my 5 series would get stuck on level ground in the snow and I struggled to get it moving even with a push, but now there is no stopping it, the new worry is the car behind that probably doesn't have the ability to stop as quick as me.

I run Michelin PS2 in summer and that is the best tyre I have had, so the Yokahama W - drive has a lot to keep up with and if I'm honest the grip level reduction in dry weather was noticeable with the Yoko's. In slightly damp weather my traction control light comes on quite often, but in the same conditions the PS2'S wouldn't lose any traction at all (even at the same temperature).

In cold conditions below 7c I feel more confident with the wDrives, I've lost traction a few times on roundabouts but I was pushing it and they were progressive and I maintained control.

The main reason I got these was the brand name and previous glowing reviews on here and a good price for tyres and alloy package but in hindsight I wish I had gone for the Nokians, Michelin Alpine or Continental TS850s

In total I paid £1500 for the alloys and tyres 245 40 18 run flats.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2014
Have you driven on the Yokohama W Drive tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama W Drive? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama W Drive >

Latest Yokohama W Drive Reviews

Given 31% while driving a BMW 535d msport touring (245/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Had these on my 535d last year, stored over the summer and back on this winter. In temps ranging from 11c to 0c the car is dangerous. Traction control light on the whole time, and like the driver of the 335d Touring, the rear end has no grip and fishtails like mad (that is until t/c cuts in). Genuinely think that these are the most dangerous tyres I have ever had.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2014
Given 73% while driving a Audi TT S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
I swapped to these winter tyres in Oct, i havent really pushed my car like i would in the warmer dryer weather, but i equally do not hang around, i feel they are a good all round winter tyre, only issue is greasy dirty roads but then again no tyre can deal with that very well.
I am fairly impressed with the grip in minus temperatures, i have had a few slides on corners but they are predictable and i feel its more than likely me expecting too much in the ice, havent tried them in the snow yet.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2014
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 94% while driving a Mazda 6 2.0 D (205/55 R16 T) on track for 34,000 easy going miles
Absolutely great tires! So far I have driven 34000 miles using them in various conditions, from dry cold through wet mud up to heavy snow and black ice. Thread is still enough deep. Wear is okay when pressure is okay or even a bit higher than recommended. Otherwise may worn be out far more quick.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2012
Given 95% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (235/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Not pushed these tyres to the limit as I am not generaly a fast driver and my first winter with these fitted was unusually mild but I grip has been excellent. The only tiome they broke traction was on a wet diesel covered roundabout and the car refused to turn. The tyes eventually bit and I carried on without too much drama unlike a previous motorist who had skidded off. Wear is so far good and ride is comfortable and quiet.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2012
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
Excellent all-round tyre for winter. It's not a genuine hardcore winter tyre like Nokian Hakappelita, but I guess it's better than other Nokians. Excellent for driving on asphalt in winter. Even managed to get out from wet ground off the road while my right side was on road with ice. Not pricey. Would buy again.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2011
Given 94% while driving a Mitsubishi New Lacer (215/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Very impressed by these tyres, they are good both in wet/snow/ice or dry conditions and in pretty much all seasons. However I would not recommend using them in summer.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2011
Given 90% while driving a Rover 220sdi (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
had these on since october now cant belive how much they transformed my car in the snow and ice. so good infact ive towed countless cars struggleing to clime the hill outside our house.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2011
Given 93% while driving a Daewoo Leganza (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Superb handling on dry roads in winter. Very good behavior even on warmer weather. On highway, at high speeds (above 150km/h), the car seems to be equipped with premium summer tyres. There is almost no difference between these winter tyres and summer tyres. They also do a fantastic job on ice and snow. Very quiet at any speed, great stability and breaking performance. Definitely will buy again
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2010