Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO

The Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 57,940 miles driven, and 9 tests with an average result of 14th.

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 66%
Handling 66%
Wear 79%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 65%

First On MarketJune 2010
Wheel Size13 - 15"
Width175 - 195mm
Profile65 - 70
Rolling ResistanceD - E
Wet GripC - D
Noise (dB)70 - 71
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Winterhawk 2 EVO is ranked 56th of 96 Winter Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Firestone Winterhawk 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Firestone Winterhawk 3.

Tests Included

9

Best Result

8th

Worst Result

28th

Average Result

14th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 Auto Bild Top 15 Winter Tyre Test
12th of 15 tyres
  • Balanced handling on wet and dry roads, good value for money
  • Prolonged wet and dry braking distances, moderate comfort, high rolling resistance
  • Satisfactory
View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

2011 Tyre Tests

2010 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
175/70 R13 82 TDD70
15 inch
195/65 R15 91 TEC70
185/65 R15 88 TDC71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO Reviews

Ford (195/50 R15) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Generally good grip on dry roads but not so impressive on the wet. Had one too many wheel spins in the same places where I previously had none with my summer tyres.

Road noise is high and comfort drops significantly. That aside they are hard wearing, with almost no significant drop noticed when replaced with summer tyres.

Will not buy again...
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2016
Given 47% while driving a Citroën C3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Worst winter tyre's ever, i crash on the mountains road in italy, i hit a small part with black snow ( snow with sand) amd my rear start to spun-off, but the funny fact is that i regain the control ofr 2 sec and i hit agin snow and i crashed in the rock. Buy another snow tyre.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2015
Given 77% while driving a BMW 318 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
I bought those tires back in 2010. This will be their 4th winter and I am extremely pleased. My review is for the 195/65/15. I am from Bulgaria and here we have good winters. However, I put the winter tyres when the temperatures are indeed low so I save them the warm days. On wet you will experience a little bit of lagging and a bit understear. However, on snow and sluggish roads they perform very well. They have strong boards and this keeps them from malforming. The wear is great. Placed 5 on progressivness since I don't drive them at the limit.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2013
Have you driven on the Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO >

Latest Firestone Winterhawk 2 EVO Reviews

Given 61% while driving a Fiat Punto Mk2b Sporting 1.4 (185/55 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
Good tires performing well on snow, but i wont buy them again the tires are pretty unexpecteble on wet and rainy roads. I get wheelspin starts when i try to accelerate quikly on damp roads. My continental sport contact 3 tire's are performing better on wet dampy roads.
The wear of the tires is verry good the last a long time!
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2016
Given 81% while driving a Renault Megane II Break 1.5dCI 105Hp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
A very balanced tyre and very good for her price. The only thing that don't like at them is the wet grip...I lose the confidence with this tyres when the road is wet, but in the rest all the things are ok. Life time is very good also and please take into consideration that I use this tyres in Romania where the roads are not good at all...
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2013
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 71% while driving a Citroën C5 (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I fitted these to a set of spare wheels at the start of November and havce since covered around 6,000 miles.
They tyres are much quieter than I was expecting from a winter tyre, cirtually no increase in noise over my summer Michelin Primacy HPs - which are very quiet.
Ride quality is very good, they smooth out bumps better than I was expecting.
Dry grip is ok, though if temperatures are around 10degrees and over the tyres seem to grip less than in colder conditions - to be expected for winter tyres.
Wet grip is superb, I really push the car through bends and the grip is very very good and progressive when the grip runs out.
Snow driving is much improved over the summer tyres, though not quite as good an improvement as I was hoping for. Still a good investment and they do provide increased grip when pulling away and braking in snowy conditions.
Ice, well what tyre will grip on ice, there is no difference between these and my summer tyres when the roads are just sheet ice.
The are wearing well, despite my spirited driving they are wearing quite evenly and still look quite new.
I would definitely recommend them, My other options were Dunlops winter tyre and Pirelli Sottozero though these were a cheaper option and they have proved to be good tyres.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2012
Given 87% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Excellent balance between quality and price !
Drove them this winter on ice, snow and dry roads without any problems.

They are not noisy, with good grip and wear.
Fuel consumption was just a bit higher but yes it was winter.
Good Firestone tire !
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2011
Given 96% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 200 average miles
2 EVO are silent (Im driving skoda octavia), stable on wet and dry.
I wait for snow to try on it.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2010