Pirelli CINTURATO P7 Reviews - Page 5

Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
This is an end of life review in addition to previous. In short these Pirellis are grippy, smooth, controllable and wear very well. The recent snow is what prompted me to change (this time for Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo) after 17000 miles on the front only with 2.5mm of tread remaining. It would have been better if I'd realised an auto centre had set the geometry correctly (for sports suspension).

I like the green credentials- light weight, less materials in construction yet a strong carcass means low unsprung weight so good ride quality yet they still grip. Braking, aquaplaning resistance and cornering are all commendable aspects for these hard wearing Cinturatos which come with 9mm of tread when new. Indeed, due to the unusually deep tread, I wish I'd fitted them to the less stressed rear wheels when new as that would pay huge dividends in tyre life.

I'm trying marginally quieter tyres this time which are still very lightweight but not so light that the carcass deforms and shoulder wear results (Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance). Look for tyre weights on Amazon under product details as a guide. However, I have found I greatly like these Pirellis and I would heartily recommend them as a vice free touring tyre. They are a refreshing change to the rather short lived, harsh and noisy tyres Continental have offered for far too long now. The Pirellis also work very well for the enthusiastic driver and stand up to punishment well. The only negative aspect is slightly blunted steering response but otherwise they really are very good indeed and I say if you are considering them just give them a try. There is nothing to lose.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2018   
Given 43% while driving a BMW 540I (245/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These came with my car, and right off, I knew I'd be replacing them. The grip isn't great, especially in the wet/cold, and the comfort level is poor (perhaps just due to the run-flat nature). They crash into every minor road imperfection and constantly seem to jiggle the car, the passengers, and most annoyingly, the driver. In addition, they don't look good. They're very rounded on the shoulders, so they appear to be narrower than other tires I've had of this size (245 r 19 in the front, 275 r 19 in the rear). It seems like they don't fill the wheel well properly or something. It's hard to describe, but I didn't feel this way with the last car (BMW 535 with the same size wheels front and back) that came with Bridgestones or Michelins, I don't remember. And perhaps this rounded shape reduces the size of the contact patch resulting in the reduced grip? But I'm very happy to report that the new Michelin PS 4S's get put on next Wednesday, and these will just be a disappointing memory.
5 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a BMW F10 520d SE (275/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
just bought these tires for my bmw 520d f10 my car steering feels much lighter now and car feels very smooth and no noise at all, im a big fan good rubber and these tires feel very good grip, i do so much driving its part of my job so im very fussy when im buying new tires i checked reviews on goggle and i taught i try these tires im 100% impressed i only have them on one day and as a true driver i know these are amazing.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 26% while driving a Audi A4 Avant 2.0T Quattro (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
had them on my big turbo 2.0 quattro a4 previous owner bought them in march , since i bought the car and mounted the turbo these tires went off , they are bald, changed them in november and not even one season wear from a eco tire .
on my oyher car i have falken 510 which are better for comfort handling and road noise , even my winters on my audi (245 40 r18 h449 falken) are better . never going to buy pirelli , these tires turned me off the brand :(
0 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a Skoda Superb MKII CR170 Manual (215/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 34,500 average miles
Have had these tyres on my Skoda Superb from new. At 34,500 miles in 18 months the fronts have finally reached the wear limiters. Perfectly matched to this car for grip and comfort. Today I have put the superseded blue on. If they get anywhere near these tyres for wear and grip I will be very pleased. Thoroughly recommend theses tyres for this type of car.
7 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (205/55 R16 V) on for 5,000 spirited miles
. Grip, handling, ride and noise are all very good. Although I've only had them on for just over 2 months, I've covered 5000 miles. So far, life seems good. Even allowing for wear, they are much better than the Continental Premium Contact 2 tyres they replaced. The Contis never had the grip, even when almost new that the Pirellis have. The Pirellis ride way smoother and are very noticeably quieter. They are predictable when pushed which the Contis never were. These Pirellis have always been light which is why they reduce unsprung weight which helps ride quality immensely.

I cannot comment on low temperature performance as yet but they are not as true tracking as the Continental tyres and even cruising, the Pirellis need a little more steering lock in bends. The plus side of that is that when the limit is approached, there is still plenty of scope for line and attitude adjustment. In any case, even if and when performance does tail off when these Pirellis are worn, it should still hopefully be quite acceptable.

I really like these tyres as they ride so smoothly and quietly yet they still manage to perform very well indeed. I find them quieter than the nose rating of 71dB suggests but that will vary car to car. Aquaplaning resistance has been exceptional but they are still new so again, I cannot comment what they are like when worn. How much performance tails off varies greatly over a tyre's life and I hope these Pirellis are well enough developed to avoid the shocking tail off which is common to so many budget tyres.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2017   
Given 71% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp (235/40 R18 R) on mostly town for 40,000 spirited miles
Very hard tyres that gripped phenominally on dry tarmac, but had a tendency to understear on wet tarmac. The hardness also meant they were a bit noisy, but that's a tradeoff: the better grip, the more noise.
13 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2017   
Given 57% while driving a Ford Cmax (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Have normally had the P7 tyre on my Ford C-Max, it came with them and so have always opted for the same, swapping the front to rear and putting new ones on the front. Only this time the road noise is just awful! I have a diesel so not the quietest car but these tyres literally drown out the noise of the engine, the radio and the kids (perhaps not a bad thing!). I can feel the vibration through the pedals and steering wheel. We've had the alignment/tracking looked at, etc. but they are just not improving. I can't understand it as all the previous Pirelli P7s have been fine. Dud batch maybe? In any case I'll be moving away from them next tyre change (if I can bear it for that long) as they are obviously not consistent in their manufacturing of these tyres.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 34,200 spirited miles
Drove for 55,0000 km on a VW Scirocco 2.0 Tsi in Dubai.
The wearing was surprisingly good, alternating front and rear every 15,000 km. The tyres could have lasted at least 10,000 km more, but I replaced them due to an internal failure in one of them due to poor road conditions.

The dry grip can be better. It isn't very progressive, loosing grip suddenly during fast cornering.
It is a comfortable tyre overall, with low noise levels and good road feedback.

Tend to be overpriced for what it offers.
17 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2017   
Given 53% while driving a BMW M235i (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
These are the tires that came on my 2015 M235i. The rear tires wore out and had to be replaced at 18,000 miles. The front will need replacing by 25,000 miles. This seems much shorter than the tire rating, and I was not doing burnouts or drag racing. This car is my wife's daily driver. My main complaint about the tire is road noise, harsh ride, and poor feedback. These are the run flats, and they are very noisy and tend wail at highest speed and transmit every road imperfection into the car as noise. You might expect this is the price to pay to transmit road feel to the driver, but these tires do not do that well either. I've replaced the tears with P Zeros and the noise has improved. We will see about the ride quality, feed back and handling when we replace the front tires with P Zeros in the next 3000 miles.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2017   
Given 86% while driving a Volvo V40 Estate (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Put these on my wife's Volvo V40 in replacement of some cheap and nasty Landsails which came with the car. The car feels much more secure on the P7s. Grip well in the wet as well as the dry. Not a high performance tyre, but neither is the car! Ideal for easy going driving on motorway or country lanes.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 406 Coupe SE (3.0 ltr V6) (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I've had these tyres on a Peugeot 406 Coupe 3.0i V6. Excelent tyres in dry, very good on a wet road. Going to buy P7 Cinturato again, 100%!
10 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2017