Subaru Impreza WRX Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru Impreza WRX.

Do you Drive a Subaru Impreza WRX? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Impreza WRX better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Dayton D320 Evo (1) 90% 90% 80% 90% 0% 80%
Nokian Snowproof P (8) 91% 89% 85% 89% 80% 76%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (43) 95% 73% 91% 93% 72% 70%
Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 (33) 92% 80% 80% 90% 75% 81%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (22) 91% 91% 77% 86% 78% 77%
Federal 595RSPRO (10) 89% 68% 76% 88% 73% 62%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (129) 84% 76% 76% 77% 74% 82%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (64) 85% 76% 78% 81% 72% 67%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (66) 77% 86% 70% 69% 75% 80%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Triangle TR968 (68) 54% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38%

Subaru Impreza WRX Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 47% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
Cheap tyre for good dry performance - I have used them with a heavy car doing autosolos and track sessions in summer. But poor in the wet and cold and very poor when coming towards end of life. I managed 12k mi from my set of 4 with rotations.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-09 03:55:29
Writing about the Federal 595RSPRO given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
I daily drive this tire in the summer. Grip is better than Michelin Pilot Super Sport. Tire grips after 1 Mile of driving. After 3 miles it feels like a real semi slick. Tire Noise is better then other Semi slick tires but noticeable. Wet grip is great.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-27 13:48:37
Writing about the Nokian Snowproof P given 92% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
I love Nokian Tires in the Winter. The new Snow proof P is a very good and sporty tire. Snow and overall grip is outstanding. Will by it again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-27 13:42:39
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 miles
went from chinese rubbish to this for a really good bargain, cant comment much more but the price i paid for the performance is phenomenal, this is not a comparison to the king PS4 but for this price i would buy it again
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-24 22:04:33
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 51% (-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Dangerous and excessive wear. Go read other 1 star reviews and you'll see that very accelerated wear is common, especially with Pilot Sport A/S tires installed over the past 6 months. (Maybe a production problem or a Costco problem.) Loved the tires when I first got them in October 2021 and I did a lot of driving on winding mountain roads. 3,000 miles later and the tires are completely bald on the rear -- and this is being blamed on my alignment. So, I went to have my alignment checked and no adjustments were needed, so it's not the alignment. Based on several reviews I've found online, tires purchased at Costco tend to have wear problems. Oh, and I only realized they were bald because it was the first snow of the season and the backend of my car lost grip. After looking at the tires, I found both were bald and one is so worn that the wires are sticking out of the tire. Unbelievable that a tire could last 3,000 miles even if I was driving my car sideways or backwards.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-08 12:01:36
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-13 17:44:19
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6600 spirited miles
+Amazing grip, never lost traction.
+Even at hard launches the brand new clutch is slipping while the tires are launching the car.
+The tire is definitely quieter than Pirelli p zero and and offer much better wet grip.

- The only possible con of the tires is that their supreme performance is very dependent on the pressure.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-01 05:20:53
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 84% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-14 14:40:24
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 66% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on track for 10000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres when I replaced my factory wheels, as they wouldn't clear the upgraded brakes back in 2014.

The compound felt soft, and thr tyres appeared to have a nice tread pattern.

Dry performance on the road has been superb considering the price I paid for these ($150 a corner). I never really took the car out in the rain, so can't really comment on wet performance.

On the track, the tyres were acceptable, but nothing amazing. I found them to be predictable, and I knew their limits, which admittedly was quite early. Once they heated up too much, they would skate around a lot, which wouldn't inspire much confidence. As I've driven them pretty hard, they've started splitting pretty badly along the outside area of the tread, and I've taken it as a sign to retire them, despite them still having plenty of tread life.

I would absolutely recommend these for a road car if you're on a budget, they gripped really well at regular speeds, even with spirited driving. On the street I had so much confidence in these tyres. I would consider these on a low powered track car (maybe something like a Civic or an Excel for example) , but once you move into anything heavier and more powerful, it would be worth moving to a better tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-17 23:46:51
Writing about the Dayton D320 Evo given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Very good eaven on track. I really love those tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-30 13:42:27
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 94% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
This is the ultimate all round tyre, they were on my Subaru upon purchase and I've discovered they are a real dark horse. The car is subject to abuse at the weekend and I've never lost confidence wet or dry. As mentioned by a previous review these appear to be out of production. Apparently it's down to noise limits which is ridiculous as the tyres aren't heard in a loud car like mine. Thankfully I've sourced a full set having kept my eye out online. I'm confident Maxxis may somehow bring the maz1 back into production.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-16 10:19:33
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 46% (235-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Horrible. Bought as they were cheap and there are few options in the 235/35-r18 size. Feedback is not too bad. Dry grip is ok but has nothing when pushed. Car is GC8 Wrx with coilovers and bigger sway bars. Tyre cannot generate enough grip for suspention to work properly. Very unpredictable when pushed hard. Sometimes plough understeer. Sometimes oversteer. Wet performance ? Make sure your life insurance is up to date, cause DAMMM !! With any steering lock Will spin all 4 tyres as boost comes on in 2nd & 3rd. Only have 200hp at tyres !
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-10 06:45:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre