Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2

The Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2 is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tyre replaced the Continental ContiCrossContact LX.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 79%
Wear 87%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 79%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 70%

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 195,000 miles driven.

The ContiCrossContact LX 2 is ranked 7th of 14 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ViBilagare SUV Tyre Test - 8th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - High levels of comfort, the grip releases progressively with early warning
  • Negative - [Tested against on-road tyres]Generally a lower level of grip compared to on-road specific tyres, poor steering feedback.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/70 R15 96H XL   E C 71 10.89kgs
225/70 R15 100T XL   E C 71 12.58kgs
235/70 R15 103T XL   E C 71 13.96kgs
265/70 R15 112H XL   E C 72 17.22kgs
225/75 R15 102T XL   E C 71 13.72kgs
235/75 R15 109T XL   E C 72 14.04kgs
215/60 R16 95H XL   C C 70 10.17kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL   C C 71 10.48kgs
215/65 R16 98H XL   E C 71 10.72kgs
255/65 R16 109H XL   E C 72 15.33kgs
215/70 R16 100T XL   E C 71 12.91kgs
225/70 R16 103H XL   E C 71 13.35kgs
235/70 R16 106H XL   E C 71 13.60kgs
245/70 R16 107H XL   E C 71 14.77kgs
245/70 R16 111T XL   C C 72 16.25kgs
255/70 R16 111T XL   C C 72 16.18kgs
265/70 R16 112H XL   E C 72 18.40kgs
225/75 R16 104S XL   C C 71 13.28kgs
205/82 R16 110S   C C 72 14.29kgs
215/50 R17 91H   C C 71 10.07kgs
225/50 R17 94V XL   E C 71 11.62kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C C 71 12.15kgs
215/60 R17 96H XL   E C 71 10.90kgs
255/60 R17 106H XL   E C 72 15.56kgs
225/65 R17 102H XL   E C 71 12.21kgs
235/65 R17 108H XL   E C 72 14.89kgs
255/65 R17 110H XL I E C 72 16.67kgs
255/65 R17 110H XL MO C C 72 15.03kgs
255/65 R17 110T XL   E C 72 16.93kgs
255/65 R17 110H   E C 72 15.26kgs
265/65 R17 112H XL   E C 72 18.19kgs
275/65 R17 115H XL   E C 72 18.09kgs
285/65 R17 116H XL   E C 74 19.07kgs
265/70 R17 115T XL   C C 72 17.29kgs
225/55 R18 98V XL   C C 71 11.90kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C C 71 11.82kgs
255/55 R18 109H XL   C C 73 15.90kgs
225/60 R18 100H XL   E C 71 13.40kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   C C 72 12.57kgs
255/60 R18 112H XL   C C 72 15.67kgs
255/60 R18 112T XL NIS C C 72 15.70kgs
285/60 R18 116V XL   C C 74 17.01kgs
265/65 R18 114H XL   C C 72 17.67kgs
275/60 R20 119H XL   C C 73 19.64kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


ContiCrossContact LX 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
215/60 R17 £106.00 - £123.10 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R18 £114.20 - £141.77 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/65 R17 £105.80 - £127.25 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/60 R18 £119.00 - £148.80 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/65 R17 £120.00 - £143.98 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 39 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Renault (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 19,000 easy going miles
In terms of longevity the LX2 tyre is hard to beat: 19,000 miles and 7mm of tread remains! Dry and wet road grip is very good too, and I can't fault their traction and grip on snow either (they're labelled 'M&S').
Unfortunately, they're not 'all-season', so once the temperature drops below 4deg C they become increasingly noisy and harsh (at -10deg C they sound and feel as though they're running flat).
Grip on compacted snow, icy or greasy roads suffers too.
As I've racked-up the miles the LX2s have also become noisier at normal temperatures.
I'd happily trade some of their high-mileage capability for more cold-weather/all-season versatility if I'm honest.
166 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2016   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota fortuner (265/65 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Lx2 is better grip than brigestune dueller HT . My car is toyota fortuner 2kd d4d with output 250 bhp 600 nm .with brigstone dueller ht when i had agresive throttle, my tyre always spin. But use lx2 the tyre is not spining. on wet lx2 also win . Lx 2 also Comfort and silent . But i dont know about the wear, because i just buy this lx2. Price near same with brigestune dueller ht.
31 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Land Rover discovery 3 (255/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Good all round tyre. Ok over rocks and on grass. Nice on the road
23 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2016   
Have you driven on the Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2 >

Latest Continental ContiCrossContact LX 2 Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Nissan Navara D23 2,3TDI 190HP (255/60 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
I use my truck for a combination of purposes: Towing my jet ski on sand/gravel/pebble beaches. Going to rough mountain roads and some off-roading there. I mostly go to where hiking trails start but can be challenging at times in Greece (see Rally Acropolis) Going skiing/mountaineering, again to the beginning of trails, to mountain refugees and the likes. I NEVER GOT STUCK! Driving in deep snow ~30cm at 40kph I had a mild understeer in a peculiar corner but that was it. Only once did I have to pull my jet-ski from further in at the beach because the trailer got buried in the sand and all fours spun out. The car alone had no issue though. I never got a puncture or tear on the sharp rocks of Greek mountains. Overall, an excellent tyre that I wish lasted a bit further from 40-45.000km
9 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 29,500 average miles
I have a SUV - 3008 with grip control.
I live in the UK - temperate climate, hardly snows if ever - we get our fair share of rain....
I don't offroad. Mostly town and motorway.
I have these tyres as they came with the car.
I've listed the review as average driving style, but in truth the car does get pushed ( 'spirited')more often than that.
Coming up to 30K miles on these tyres. 3.2mm left on front 4.4 on rear.

I think its fair to say that in the UK 10 years ago, very very few people would have even known that winter tyres were an option, certainly my parents have never had them fit in there nearly 60 years each of driving.
Nowadays, especially with the german brigade failing miserly whenever there is the slightest sign of light frost, winter tyres seem to be 'the norm'.
These tyres are classed as mud and snow tyres by peugeot, on here they are classed as Premium Touring Summer tyres designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4's.
I'm no tyre expert, but to me; the tread pattern looks like its designed for more than summer roads - and having driven these for 30k miles, i can say with confidence that these tyres are great.
Wet and dry handling, braking, confidence is brilliant - keeping in mind its an SUV.
Pushing it hard in roundabouts, its predictable, you just know...

I haven't encountered deep snow, i'd like to know if these are good in snow, but we just don't see any. However, for the UK, in sub 7 degree temps they perform like my wifes car which IS shod in winter rubber.

All I can say is that i wouldn't hesitate to buy these again (which won't be long for the front). Infact, i don't think i would consider a summer tyre of these. If you own a SUV in a climate similar to mine, then consider these.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 35,000 spirited miles
I got the Tyres factory fitted on the 2018 Peugeot 3008 1.8l engine. have used the tyres for a total of 36000 miles of which 25000 MIles are driven without any issue.I drive daily at around 77 Mph on the Highway daily for around 50 miles and 25 miles within city limits at an average of 35 Mph. I have driven around 80 miles on off road to avoid traffic through the life of these tyres. I have not rotated my tyres at all during the life of these tyres, However I have checked for Allignment every 6000 Miles without any issues reported.
After Diving for 25000 miles I faced the following Issues, 1) the road noise increased considerably 2) The vibrations on the back tyres have increased. 3) The thread on the tyres are down to 3-4 mm but the threadblocks are worn out unevenly on the back tyres at certain points which effects the added noise that I am experiencing.

Overall the tyres are excellent, They have fared well for the extreme temperature in UAE. You feel very confident while driving and breaking distance feedback on these tyres are excellent. My comments after having used the Bridgestone Turanza on myDodge Durango and the Pirelli Tyres on My Honda. You will not regret buying these tyres and I am already on the lookout for the replacement tyres as they are hard to find for the 225/55/18 variant in UAE.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Nissan Navara D23 2,3TDI 190HP (255/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 28,500 spirited miles
After 30k+ miles (45k km) the tires had no tread left.
The ride is smooth and silky.
Very good traction in sand, pebbles, gravel, dirt and mud.
Above 40km/h on 20-30cm deep snow, some under steering appears even with locked 4x4. By comparison, my snow tyres on FWD are stable at over 60km/h.
Overall very good tyre that I would gladly wear again.
10 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Peugeot 5008 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Very good handling on dry and wet roads, with real capabilties on light snow (but encountered some trouble climbing a hill with more than 5 cm of fresh snow). Good resistance: 40.000 km and still ok
5 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2019   
Given 94% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I bought them recently and went with them about 2000 km. The impressions are excellent, quiet and comfortable, excellent in wet and very good in dry condition.
Before them I used GY EfficientGripSUV for 40000 km in 4 years, which were excellent in the dry but worse in the wet and desperate in gravel road.
All recommendations for Conticross lx2.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Nissan 2016 navara np300 (255/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
Cant really comment on dynamics other than the navara feels secure on road the most impressive is how well they last, 26000 miles on pick up truck and still a bit to go,thats impressive
11 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a GMC Envoy (265/65 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Over all i have positive experience with this tyre ...i liked its performance on light off-roading.. good road performance
My main complain is that it is noisy on our roads here in Middle East..
22 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2018   
Given 91% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
100.000 km road without a noticible problem with tires. I will buy again
14 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2018   
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 5008 (225/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I got these tyres fittet as standard on my newly purchased Peugeot 5008 GT-Line SUV equipped with Grip Control, because of which these tyres come as standard on 18" wheels.
I have driven on these tyres for about 2000 miles, before the winter season arrived.
For the initial review I can say the following:

Dry Grip: Extremely good, especially on damaged tarmac, gravel and off road. These tyres are designed to give a good grip on different surfaces and the achieve this extremely well.

Wet Grip: Wet grip is satisfactory, but obviously not the best in class of premium touring summer tyres, because of specific threar patter designed to provide better grip on gravel/mud/rocky terrain, these tyres do suffer from some loss on wet roads. And drivers should be aware of this when driving in heavy rain. But generally in 99% of the time you don't even notice this.

Road feedback/Handling: The provide actually very good road feedback, tyres are sturdy and they seem to not deform too much on curvy roads, so the car stays in balance and where you want it to go.

Wear: It is too early to say after 2000 miles, but there was no noticeable wear&tear on tyres after this distance driven.

Comfort: Low profile and 18" wheels do decrease the comfort somewhat, but this is to expect so no complains there. I suppose cars with more advanced suspenssion systems (adaptive and air suspension) can compensate even lower porfile tyres today.

Final conclusion: I still have many mile to drive on these tyres, but so far they seem like a perfect fit for a Crossover/SUV type of a vehicle. They provide excellent grip on many different types of terrain, while still keeping decent comfort and noise levels on Motorway spees and tarmac. So far I can say I would definitely buy them again for this vehicle type.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Nissan X Trail (T32) 2.0 (225/65 R17) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Have used for almot 1500 KM. Compared to previous set which was Dunlop Grandtrek St30, it was night and day. The first thing to notice was the noise. My mom, who usually didn't notice any difference in car rides after I tweak here and there, suddenly said "Is it only me or does the car really run quieter?". Yes, much better road noise compared to the Dunlop. Cruising over potholes in in Jakarta, you didn't bounce to the left and right excessively anymore. In terms of dry and wet handling-braking, I feel more confidence with these tyres.

Just like previous reviews, when mounting these tyres to the rims, the mechanics were using inflated tube to fit in. They said that those tires have changed their shape (it was manufactured 2917, it is still new).
23 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2017