Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3

The Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 80%
Wear 77%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 73%

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 134,900 miles driven.

The MP 47 Hectorra 3 is ranked 55th of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 33rd of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 36th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


MP 47 Hectorra 3 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £53.60 - £67.00 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £47.60 - £60.80 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £66.60 - £76.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £54.40 - £69.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 100 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
First time on non-premium tyres (€ 72,00 per corner fitted) replacing a set of excellent PIRELLI P ZERO ROSSO ASIMETRICO (bargain price at € 95.00 per corner fitted 4 years ago - nice wear lasting already 60.000 km after an axle change at 40.000 km - great dry and wet grip as new - vast diminuation after 15.000 km). So far excellent dry grip (braking and acceleration comparable to new Pirellis' and factory's ContiSportContact2) and an improvement on comfort compared to both of them, probably because of claimed softer sidewalls (fine ride and acceptable noise up to 100 km/h).
Re-review after several thousands of kilometres on both wet and dry, curious to see cornering abilities. Not yet scoring for wet grip - road feedback, progressivenes, wear and buy again.
238 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2016   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Passat TFSI 2.0 Sport (200bhp) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
purchased a set of 4, 235/40/18, for my passat tfsi 2.0. having replaced dunlop sportmaxx rt. driven 8.700 km so far and positively surprised by a so called "cheap" tyre. very good grip in both dry and wet conditions, not to mention their low noise and very good
comfort levels.
49 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245/35 R18 W) on for 5,000 miles
Perfect tyres
45 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2018   
Have you driven on the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 >

Latest Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Chevrolet Orlando (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
I have driven around 10k km on these tyres and I have mixed feelings. GOOD: - very good dry grip - tyres are really quiet - decent handling and road feedback - perfect price BAD: - average wear - everything gets worse when it starts raining, tyres have absolutely no grip o wet! (compare to other tyres I had like Dunlop Bluresponse or even very average Bridgestone Turanza ER300) - surprisingly when it rains more they have good aquaplaning resistance NOTE: - based on size they can be made in Slovakia, France, Germany etc. I have feeling that those from Western Europe are different, my parents in law have 205/55/16 from Germany and when you touch the rubber it feels different
12 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2020   
Given 57% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Matador tyres are very popular budget brand in my country (Slovakia). Therefore pricing on these is really attractive and only reason for which I would consider them again. These tyres are decent in the dry, but in rainy weather they get slippery, especially in colder conditions (7-15 C as it is still a summer tyre). They are so bad in the wet that I am always looking forward to my Sava Eskimo hp2 when the autumn starts. and it does tell you something about a summer tyre when it gives the driver less confidence then economy winter tyre on the wet. Another complaint about these tyres is the soft side wall, so I would strongly advise against these for a sporty drive. I regularly drive on these also in 205/50 R15 size, and they are slightly more bearable.
5 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2020   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 47% while driving a BMW 530i (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Wery bad on water
11 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Mondeo 1.6 TDCi (215/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
After 40000 km it is time to change the mp47. The verdict. Very good traction in wet and dry conditions, good traction in snow and very good wear and definitely I would buy them again. For the price or even for a premium brand it is a very good deal!
12 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Subaru Legacy IV (BP) 2.0i wagon (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
I had these on the back of my four wheel drive estate. They lasted 12,000 miles through summer and never lost grip in the wet or dry, but it would be more interesting to try them on the front next time. Aside from average wear resistance, the only issue I have with them is the necessity to inflate the tyres slightly over recommended/other brands to make them sit comfortably. I think for the right price these can be a good middle range tyre. They DID loose grip when heavily worn in the wet, actually quite considerably. Not a problem when new/moderately worn.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Fiat Bravo (205/55 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
I have 35000 km with this tyres it's fantastic
13 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Nissan Almera 1.6 saloon (195/55 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
First 1000km and only positive things to say. First time buying low budget tyres and i think i'll do it again. Previous tyres bridgestone TURANZA ER300. Very happy with those too, but expensive and harder sidewalls and noisy above 110-120 km
23 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2019   
Given 41% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (235/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Fitted these to an Astra GTC and totally ruined the car. They were cheap, but you get what you pay for. If the road is wet I have to slow right down, and on a wet roundabout I get loads of understeer. These are dangerous in the wet, but ok if the road is dry. I will go back to the Bridgestones I had before.
28 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a BMW 318d M Sport Touring (E91) (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Overall in terms of grip and comfort very good tires for the price, compared to continental sportcontact 5. I have owned matadors before (mp46) and they were really good, so i decided to buy the new model. The sidewalls are maybe a little bit too soft, but the comfort level is high and for me this was important. Mine are produced in romania and after about 4000 kms I am experiencing tire pull,which is the only negative thing I am experiencing to date. Maybe this pull is related to the softer sidewalls. I will see if warranty covers such issues, because i had an alignment and it didn't fix it.
30 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2017   
Given 96% while driving a BMW 525d E61 Touring M Sport (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
very good tyres for this price
16 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2017   
Given 85% while driving a Ford Mondeo 1.6 TDCi (215/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 100 average miles
I have just put on the tires. It is the initial impression that after Goodyear efficient grip. The fell is that they r soft. They brake very well better than Goodyear and they seem to be quiter. The protection of the rim seems to be working. They r smooth ride and the cornering is adequate. More review after some klm.
27 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
Excelent for the price, gives confidence especialy in dry conditions and in cornering. Definitly consider them for your next tyres. Not my first pair of Matador tyres and both times very satisfied
20 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2016