Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3

The Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 78%
Wear 75%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 139,901 miles driven.

The MP 47 Hectorra 3 is ranked 70th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch - 16th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Relatively low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Weak in the dry and wet.
  • Overall - Overall, the Matador MP47 Hectorra 3 does not get more than a satisfactory rating. On a dry road it even ends up at the end of the test field, on a wet road it just barely misses a good rating. Overall, the tire is recommended.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 33rd of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 36th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 16th: 2022 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 33rd: 2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 36th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    MP 47 Hectorra 3 Prices

    Size Price Range  
    175/65 R14 £46.39 - £60.90 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £55.69 - £90.70 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/50 R17 £77.20 - £96.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £60.39 - £73.00 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    265/35 R18 £94.79 - £122.50 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 98 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
    First time on non-premium tyres (€ 72,00 per corner fitted) replacing a set of excellent PIRELLI P ZERO ROSSO ASIMETRICO (bargain price at € 95.00 per corner fitted 4 years ago - nice wear lasting already 60.000 km after an axle change at 40.000 km - great dry and wet grip as new - vast diminuation after 15.000 km). So far excellent dry grip (braking and acceleration comparable to new Pirellis' and factory's ContiSportContact2) and an improvement on comfort compared to both of them, probably because of claimed softer sidewalls (fine ride and acceptable noise up to 100 km/h).
    Re-review after several thousands of kilometres on both wet and dry, curious to see cornering abilities. Not yet scoring for wet grip - road feedback, progressivenes, wear and buy again.
    Helpful 249 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2016
    Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245/35 R18 W) on for 5,000 miles
    Perfect tyres
    Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2018
    Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Passat TFSI 2.0 Sport (200bhp) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
    purchased a set of 4, 235/40/18, for my passat tfsi 2.0. having replaced dunlop sportmaxx rt. driven 8.700 km so far and positively surprised by a so called "cheap" tyre. very good grip in both dry and wet conditions, not to mention their low noise and very good
    comfort levels.
    Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2017
    Have you driven on the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 >

    Latest Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 Reviews

    Given 29% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra 280 (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Probably the worst tyres I ever had, barely grips in the dry and even worse in the rain.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
    Given 81% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1 average miles
    Bought these for my 2006 Skoda Fabia 1.2 (not exactly a car to set the world alight with so-called power). These tyres were a welcome upgrade from the cheap things that were on it when I purchased the car. These tyres were very good in the dry and made the car feel very planted on the road, however, in the wet they'd be absolutely hopeless as they'd be very prone to spin when setting off at the likes of roundabouts. I'd only buy these again if they were better in the wet.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2021
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 73% while driving a BMW 2013 320i (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Fitted to A BMW 3 series having had Pirelli P Zero before and to be honest the only difference I have noticed is the money left in my wallet
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2021
    Given 70% while driving a Chevrolet Orlando (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    I have driven around 10k km on these tyres and I have mixed feelings. GOOD: - very good dry grip - tyres are really quiet - decent handling and road feedback - perfect price BAD: - average wear - everything gets worse when it starts raining, tyres have absolutely no grip o wet! (compare to other tyres I had like Dunlop Bluresponse or even very average Bridgestone Turanza ER300) - surprisingly when it rains more they have good aquaplaning resistance NOTE: - based on size they can be made in Slovakia, France, Germany etc. I have feeling that those from Western Europe are different, my parents in law have 205/55/16 from Germany and when you touch the rubber it feels different
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2020
    Given 57% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Matador tyres are very popular budget brand in my country (Slovakia). Therefore pricing on these is really attractive and only reason for which I would consider them again. These tyres are decent in the dry, but in rainy weather they get slippery, especially in colder conditions (7-15 C as it is still a summer tyre). They are so bad in the wet that I am always looking forward to my Sava Eskimo hp2 when the autumn starts. and it does tell you something about a summer tyre when it gives the driver less confidence then economy winter tyre on the wet. Another complaint about these tyres is the soft side wall, so I would strongly advise against these for a sporty drive. I regularly drive on these also in 205/50 R15 size, and they are slightly more bearable.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2020
    Given 47% while driving a BMW 530i (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Wery bad on water
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Ford Mondeo 1.6 TDCi (215/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    After 40000 km it is time to change the mp47. The verdict. Very good traction in wet and dry conditions, good traction in snow and very good wear and definitely I would buy them again. For the price or even for a premium brand it is a very good deal!
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019
    Given 64% while driving a Subaru Legacy IV (BP) 2.0i wagon (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
    I had these on the back of my four wheel drive estate. They lasted 12,000 miles through summer and never lost grip in the wet or dry, but it would be more interesting to try them on the front next time. Aside from average wear resistance, the only issue I have with them is the necessity to inflate the tyres slightly over recommended/other brands to make them sit comfortably. I think for the right price these can be a good middle range tyre. They DID loose grip when heavily worn in the wet, actually quite considerably. Not a problem when new/moderately worn.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2019
    Given 84% while driving a Fiat Bravo (205/55 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
    I have 35000 km with this tyres it's fantastic
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2019
    Given 84% while driving a Nissan Almera 1.6 saloon (195/55 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
    First 1000km and only positive things to say. First time buying low budget tyres and i think i'll do it again. Previous tyres bridgestone TURANZA ER300. Very happy with those too, but expensive and harder sidewalls and noisy above 110-120 km
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2019
    Given 41% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (235/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
    Fitted these to an Astra GTC and totally ruined the car. They were cheap, but you get what you pay for. If the road is wet I have to slow right down, and on a wet roundabout I get loads of understeer. These are dangerous in the wet, but ok if the road is dry. I will go back to the Bridgestones I had before.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2018
    Given 77% while driving a BMW 318d M Sport Touring (E91) (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    Overall in terms of grip and comfort very good tires for the price, compared to continental sportcontact 5. I have owned matadors before (mp46) and they were really good, so i decided to buy the new model. The sidewalls are maybe a little bit too soft, but the comfort level is high and for me this was important. Mine are produced in romania and after about 4000 kms I am experiencing tire pull,which is the only negative thing I am experiencing to date. Maybe this pull is related to the softer sidewalls. I will see if warranty covers such issues, because i had an alignment and it didn't fix it.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2017