Linglong L688

The Linglong L688 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 43%
Wet Grip 25%
Road Feedback 33%
Handling 31%
Wear 53%
Comfort 36%
Buy again 26%

Tyre review data from 28 tyre reviews averaging 35% over 1,226,928 miles driven.

The L688 is ranked 129th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 42nd of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>

2011 Autobild Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Low noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Poor understeer and load change-prone performance on wet and dry roads, dangerously long braking distances on wet roads, poor ride comfort.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Linglong L688
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Linglong L688. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Linglong L688 Reviews

Given 10% while driving a Ford Focus (225/45 R17) on track for 1,000,000 spirited miles
i love these bad boys , yeah there cheap and you may die but think of the money you save , i have a shiny coat and corn beef side lappers and hermin munster boots , that ronnie is due me scrap money
18 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2015   
Given 57% while driving a Fiat 500 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
bought these tyres 6 weeks ago 2 fronts I have been quite pleased with them until today rainy day and oh my days could not get a rip and a few skids, maybe its as I have a little car not sure fairly cheap and never had a problem with budget tyres before, so in dry weather drives nicely, wet weather expect problems!!!
5 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2014   
Given 37% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
o in the dry, utter rubbish in the wet. id never have these tyres again, even if they were free. wet grip is poor at best. they do seem to last ok and are bearable in the dry but where I live, more often than not, its wet. far from ideal. ive driven premium tyres (goodyear or Michelin, for example) worn to the legal limit with more wet grip than these have at a little over half worn!
3 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2017   
Have you driven on the Linglong L688 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Linglong L688? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Linglong L688 >

Latest Linglong L688 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Toyota Mark X (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
funny that all these bad reviews are from when people put linglongs on their FWD crappers and complain about understeer, all your vws and vauxhalls are economy box junkers - not made for handling in the first place!!
regardless, for one these are directional tread, so the noise is expected, but it doesnt phase me, just turn up the music pussies! the grip is excellent, havent had any aquaplaining issue, were very cheap and got them fitted and balanced in the price, so i was happy that i didnt have to splurge out for some nankangs or some other korean junk and find they give me a blowout randomly (ive heard horror stories). i think these would suit a heavier car better. it seems people expect too much from the cheapest directional available. these badboys will last forever the tread is DEEP!!
0 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2014   
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
These tyres are not that bad.
I use them on a GOLF GTD
And they handle the huge 256 ft lbs of torque surprisingly we'll this car is great fun to drive and these tyres don't alter this. I was worried when I bought the car with these tyres already fitted as I prefer good brands, but I have be happy with them.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 43% while driving a Vauxhall Astra SXi (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Basically a budget tyre. OK for dry driving styles. Easy to normal wet road driving. Anything above normal wet road driving, no grip. A very basic XL rated budget tyre. A poor performing, cheap tyre. Especially in the wet or damp road conditions.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2014   
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Alhambra 1.8T 20v (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
These tyres have lasted a lifetime, I have used them on my Alhambra 1.8 20v and have given me thousands of miles free from punctures or aqua planing.

Unfortunately, I think these are no longer made as they are very hard to come by, but would happily put another set all round on my people carrier any day.

They possibly work best on a heavier vehicle going by the previous posts, but haven't experienced any issues.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2014   
Given 51% while driving a MINI Cooper s (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
THE TYRES SEEM AVERAGE ACROSS THE BOARD, BUT THE PRICE WASS REALLY GOOD. WOULDN'T RECOMMEND FOR TRACK DAY BUT GREAT TO SAVE THE TRACK TYRES
0 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2014   
Given 16% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
If you've had enough of life and fancy ending it either upside down in a ditch or maybe even in a ball of fire embedded in a tree, then buy LingLong tyres, cos at some point, they'll definitely kill you!

These were fitted new by the dealer when I purchased the car, the dry grip is OK at best, but the wet/mildly moist grip is truly frightening....Literally!

In the wet, these tyres have about as much grip as a greased eel on a bed of ballbearings, the dealer might as well have just put ice cream on the rims!

AVOID AT ALL COSTS, SPEND A LITTLE MORE AND LIVE LONGER....How the hell are these things allowed on the market?
1 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2013   
Given 23% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (225/45 R17 S) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Fitted to the car when purchased:

Noisy in the dry

Like driving on ice in the wet. Wheel spin at any mild acceleration.

Dangerous

DO NOT BUY
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2013   
Given 57% while driving a Toyota Gaia (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6 easy going miles
Well, I have these tyres on my Toyota Gaia, but I think they have done well so far. It depends! I fitted them and did 6,ooo km on them and even went off road. What people have written cant be all true! I have a friend who bought those your Michelin, etc but when he went on a ride, one of them burst and yet it was brand new!!
0 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2013   
Given 26% while driving a Fiat croma (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Hello

These tyres were on my used car when I bought it , at the time I thought it was great that it had nearly new tyres on the front axle and made my deal a bit better.

I am not a brand snob but I would not want to use anything that would endanger myself and family or other people. I believe these tyres do just that ! I have never thrown away any tyres until they were nearly illegal but these had to go. They are fitted to 1.9 120hp diesel , a big family car that is not abused yet given the slightest bit of moisture it is hard to set off quickly if needed , braking is dangerous and cornering , well I have drifted intentionally in my impreza years ago but its not so fun when its unexpected in a big car like this . Also the balancing is awful despite being checking and the car feels like the tracking is out ( its not)!

Do not buy these tyres unless your a drifter!

So many people have wrote funny things about how bad these tyres are , so I will just say "if you want to live long , don't buy linglong!"

Swapped to Nexen N8000 - its a different car now

0 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2013   
Given 13% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL320 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
These really are THE worst tyres I've ever driven on. In the wet they are LETHAL! I always fit premium tyres when I buy, Continental, Pirelli, or Michelin. I bought a Mercedes SL with these already fitted, was a bit dubious but thought they would do....I hadn't even got the car home and had experienced a very very worrying aqua-plain. Not good to have the stability prog flashing at you at 65mph! Even at low speed, I just had the tremendous over steer around a small roundabout, and it feels like it wants to understeer with just a slight movement of the steering wheel. AVOID, (or die!!!)
0 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2013   
Given 10% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.4 hdi (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
DO NOT BUY IT'S LIKE DRIVING ON A BAG OF GREASY MARBLES
0 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2013   
Given 80% while driving a Audi A8 (285/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
must say these L688 tyres certainly best bang for your buck and yes maybe not the best in the wet but not dreadful either but do last a long time...well made tyre and needed very little balance weights....
0 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2013