Nissan 300zx Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Nissan 300zx.

Do you Drive a Nissan 300zx? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 300zx better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (178) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (99) 87% 83% 81% 80% 77% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (18) 90% 79% 87% 87% 65% 63%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (64) 85% 76% 78% 81% 72% 67%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Kumho Ecsta AST KU25 (8) 83% 66% 68% 65% 71% 49%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (16) 70% 51% 57% 48% 58% 65%
Sunny SN3970 (46) 71% 49% 54% 54% 65% 54%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Primewell PZ900 (59) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50%
Pirelli P6000 (175) 66% 46% 55% 48% 67% 60%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Fullrun HP199 (79) 48% 28% 32% 33% 53% 27%

Nissan 300zx Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 76% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Great tyres, one of the best in my opinion. Fantastic dry grip, wet grip was good. Car used to spin them under hard acceleration. But 500+bhp car couldn't really complain. Lasted 7000 miles of hard driving and track use. Would definitely buy again
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-24 12:05:20
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 82% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Quiet, grip is good atm, and for the price I am happy. They seem to be able to handle 228bhp so am happy enough. Replaced some rather elderly Firestone Roadhawks and seem miles better in comfort and road noise with reasonable grip.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-25 13:51:08
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 75% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Work well for the price- dry grip is very good, wet not so much. Progressive runout when grip goes and sidewalls are much better than the old t1r. As a few people mentioned, tyres are quite noisy and mildly vibrate like a wheel bearing is on the way out on some surfaces!
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-25 13:44:40
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta AST KU25 given 49% (225-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
These tires absolutely suck on wet roads. I totaled my 300ZX because of the. Allow me to explain.
I have a NA Z32. 220 HP 200 TQ, so by no means is this considered a "fast car" by most standards. I've never had issues with these tires unless the road was wet. When driving these tires on wet road, they suddenly become the most unpredictable and deadly tires ever. Over the course of having them for 8 months, I've done many unintentional burnouts when its raining, even when a actively trying to take it easy. On time I was accelerating ffrom a red light and after shifting into 2nd the tires just lost all control and I fishtailed a little but recovered. That very same drive, I was going around a right turn in a residential area, I was in 3rd and after completing the turn I go to accelerate and I spin out. This car, a 220 hp 20 year old NA V6, was losing traction in THIRD GEAR going 15-20 mph.
Now for the inspiration for writing this review. I'm on my way to school, it had just finished raining, and I'm waiting in the back of a line at a red light. Turns green, line moves up and I go to turn right. I'm in second gear. I'm not going very fast to begin with because I'm in a line of cars coming out of a red light, but somehow after turning I accelerate and I start fishtailing again towards the right. I overcorrect too much to the left, and NOW they decide to grip...Right as I'm facing the side of a pickup. Bags go off, tons of pieces of my car go into the street. The truck just took a minor dent in the side. My car totaled, and its all because of these damn tires.
http://m.imgur.com/HcLjqGw
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-25 18:12:31
Writing about the Cooper Zeon 2XS given 76% (275-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Really pleased with these. Second set of the exact same tyres I've had on this car and it's done a range of country lanes, motorways, track days, drag strips and town driving. I have them on the rears, with Falken 452s on the front and I've got to say, on the track, in the corners that matter, that Falkens give out before the Coopers. The car is 400bhp @ the hubs, so roughly 480 at the flywheel, very heavily modified and with equal amounts of torque to bhp, yet the rears very rarely break loose outside of 2nd gear in the dry (If I could find a tyre that didn't in 1st or 2nd I'd be amazed), the Falkens on the fronts on the other hand, start to give me a wobbly feeling in hard corners at Silverstone and last year on Donnington. Comfort and noise is a little hard to tell in this car obviously, but I'd say they offer better comfort than the Falkens, which have a metal band in the sidewalls. Wear really doesn't seem too bad either, I've done probably 15k road miles, with the combination mentioned above and 5k track/strip miles with these on the rear of a rear wheel drive 480bhp car and the tyres still look very good condition, with plenty of tread, plenty of grip, etc.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-08 17:03:13
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 79% (275-35-18-R)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
This is my fourth set of various sizes of these tires. They really look great and when warmed up in dry conditions they are almost impossible to break free and when they do it is easy to control the slide. BUT BEWARE in the wet! It is probably just the nature of a hard compound (long lasting) tire that when they break loose on wet roads they just GO! You will find yourself going backwards in a second or trying your best to chase the tail of the car to keep it behind you. And maybe because of the awesome dry road grip you will find yourself throwing it into a turn like usual and the next thing you know your frantically trying to keep the car from spinning. So my advice is to go a safe area and test the tires in the wet to know their limit before finding yourself backwards on a busy highway. One last note, the painted lines on the road are really like ice to the tires when wet so be beware. I have these on my 300ZX and BMW 850ci.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-04 10:06:00
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
can not fault them on my 3rd set for my 700hp 300zx RWD sports car will buy again and again
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-31 05:13:50
Writing about the Primewell PZ900 given 21% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
I bought these because I was low on funds and simply put... they were cheap and were rubber.

These tires were never tracked, and only DD driven. I got 5000 miles out of them before they were literally balding and showing radial. One had a bulge commonly seen right before a tire blows out. Pathetic tread wear at -2 camber.

Dry traction is moderate at best.. I spun these tires on gear changes during the summer, let alone during the winter.

Wet traction, what traction, scared me to drive my car in the rain on these tires... one second you had traction and the next you had none.

Snow, see above.

You get what you pay for, but for the price.. spend 30 extra bucks and get a name brand tire that won't wear out so quickly. I have Nexen 3000s on my front which have 40k miles at -2 camber and have been tracked, DD, and driven hard... still at 30-40% tread.

If you absolutely have to cheap out.. go find a used tire place and get some used name brand tires for 25 a piece....
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-20 23:01:33
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 750 spirited miles
I have a Nissan 300ZX twin turbo that I bought a year ago and modified to 465bhp (weighs 1530kg). With the Chinese tyres that came with the car it would always fishtail like crazy and spin the wheels (even before I increased power from the stock 300bhp). I simply couldn't floor it in 1st or 2nd at all (without risking putting the car into a power pole). Only had these tyres a month but since putting them on fish tailing and wheel spinning under WOT has disappeared. I can now put all the power to the ground. The change is remarkable. I am so happy, that is what I bought these tyres to do. Cornering grip and wet grip also lived up to expectations (based on the reviews I read here).
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-18 04:52:56
Writing about the Fullrun HP199 given 70% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Running 350 bhp through these tyres. Incredible budget tyre
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-21 23:30:23
Writing about the Event WL905 given 31% (245-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
These tyres nearly killed me! I bought my car with 2 of these on the back, firstly the car's suspension has been professionally set up and the tyre pressures are checked weekly.

The tyres are ok in the dry, never worried me at all.

Then it rained, now my car is powerful but it is like driving in snow. After a few wobbles I decided to re-brief myself a bit in case I was driving like a tit. So I made sure not to be clumsy with the throttle, but when I got sideways at 1/4 throttle in fifth at 70mph on the motorway I got worried. I am so glad I am not alone in hating these tyres because I thought I was simply out of my depth with my car when I spun on a roundabout at 15mph. Now I have never come close to spinning a car, having done over 100 000 miles between a 2.8 turbo Capri and an mx5, including 2 track days.

I was going to sell my car before I hurt myself or someone else then I read these reviews. To the people understeering in hatchbacks you have my sympathy, but now you will understand if you see a 400bhp nissan reversing off a roundabout in the few days it takes me to order some pirelli p zeros.

Avoid.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-01 12:11:00
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I've tested these tyres from both German and the Asian manufacturers.
There is a significant difference in quality or something occuring between their origins. The Asian sourced ones are unpredictable at speed, and seem to be noiser too. I also suspect a much higher wear rate than the German sourced ones.
I go through tyres quickly as I use them for track days. The GSD3s to wear faster than most, but they are comfortable and can be used for longer tourers with respectable performance.
Apparently these tyres were discontinued due to a high manufacturing cost.
I now reside with Bridgestone RE11s as an all round tyre - but yet to try Eagle F1 Asymmetrics
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-10 16:58:34
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre