Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo.

Do you Drive a Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Astra J 1.4 turbo better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 (17) 88% 93% 80% 87% 88% 94%
Kumho Solus 4S HA32 (2) 90% 90% 90% 90% 70% 90%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Nokian WR D3 (42) 91% 88% 88% 87% 85% 87%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (53) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (65) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84%
Debica Presto UHP2 (32) 89% 83% 84% 83% 78% 92%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (284) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Falken Azenis FK510 (116) 90% 88% 82% 82% 74% 78%
Nokian WR D4 (62) 84% 84% 80% 80% 67% 86%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (187) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Petlas Snow Master W651 (21) 78% 70% 66% 70% 83% 72%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (34) 70% 83% 62% 65% 68% 73%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (128) 77% 67% 61% 59% 69% 70%
Goodride SA37 (21) 73% 66% 63% 61% 56% 65%

Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Solus 4S HA32 given 79% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres are exactly what I expected. Dry braking and grip are better than I anticipated for all-season tyres. The road noise is much lower compared to my former summer tyres (Michelin Primacy) or to my winter tyres (Hankook Winter I-cept RS2). Wet grip and braking are really good too. I am waiting to test Kumho on snow and slush, but I am positive they won't disappoint me. So far, so good. I will be coming back for an updated once I put in more miles.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-22 19:12:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
7 summer, and 45000 km crossed. Still not complete worren. Excellent on rain, heavy or light. Small weakness at dry road on low temperatures. 215/50R17
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-12 20:43:47
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-29 12:51:03
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The best tires I have ever used. Absolutely excellent wet grip control, day grip is very good as well. Rain Sport 5 is not very noisy, for the price is very comfort and have extra handling skills especially in rainy weather. With these tires you feel comfortable and safe at the same time. Generally, this is one of the best mid-range tyre and definitely I recommended to everyone. If you buy it you won't regret it.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-01 21:03:49
Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 69% (215-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 spirited miles
I bought this tyres after initially installed on
my new car Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance. You can see my earlier review from this spring, when installed the tyres. I was amazed by their comfort and excellent grip. But this was valid for new tyres. After 5000 km, I started to feel the lost of grip on wet roads and "polished" city roads. After 10000 km, the tyres lost their quietness and comfort, extended braking distance. Now 2 - 3 weeks before switching to winter tyres and after 18000 km, the tyres lost grip on roads colder than 15 degree C. Breaking distance increase dramatically, ABS working like on snow for each more intensive breaking. The tyres performance is like 2,5 years old premium tyres even older for wet and cold conditions. I'm driving intensively 160 km each day to my work and back. For this tyres set I bet on low cost and good results in the reviews. So, I'm glad when add the price, less than half of the price of premium tyres. For the next summer have to drive with limitations and more careful, but it was the same in 4-th summer of Goodyear's. I hope the tyres will not lose their current performance after a winter in my garage. Because on temperatures above 15 degree C this Debica tyres are still better than Goodyears in their 4-th summer! Will I buy it again?! Mmm, not! Will look for midprice class.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-15 19:33:07
Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 85% (215-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Just today switched to summer tyres and installed on my Astra brand new Debica Presto UHP2 set. I had about 100 km on country roads, mostly on dry. The tyres are extremely quiet. Compared with all other premium brands on all my cars, excluding Michelin I've driven any of premium European brands. The filling is like I've cĥanged the whole suspension of the car. I switched from Continental TS 850 P, which is winter tyre with very soft rubber and it is like just changed the car! Astra J as many of mass cars of C segment is not famous with its comfort and sound insulation. Despite that I invested more than 3000 Euro in sound system, including above 50 kg of vibro and noise suppression, the car became absolutely quiet. I cannot hear any noise from the tyres up to 80km/h.
The car is taking all the road small bumps and cracks (which we have a lot of on BG country roads) in totally new comfortable way. I use to reduced tyre pressure below 2.3 bars, because the suspension became quite annoying. And today asked in tyre service where they changed the tyres - what pressure they established? They told me 2.5 bar, whic I intended to reduce as usually to 2.3. Then after road test I realised that pressure reduction was not needed.
For the price of 290Euro including installation, this tyres outperforms much expensive premium brands in quietness and comfort!
Later after I collect some experience in different road conditions I will submit more detailed review about the tyre performance.
For now I'm amazed by their comfort and quietness.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-06 17:26:31
Writing about the Goodride SA37 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
Good tyres
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-15 00:18:29
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 76% (215-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22500 average miles
I bought this Opel Astra turbo with Electronic suspension at 74.000 km having Bridgestone ER300 in front and rear. The front ones were worn down to 3mm and I decided to have them changed into a pair of EGP.

Car got immediately smoother and much quieter. Driving less in city, but mostly in curvy roads to commute from Home to office, as well as driving in motorways under Greece's warm climate , after making 19.000 km in front and 17.000 km in rear wheels in 2 year's time, I have come up with the following experience :

Dry conditions :Average to high grip performance ( when new, but deteriorates gradually over mileage) , good handling and braking, quiet rolling , rather numb feeling in steering, when cornering and poor road feedback ( the car's steering characteristics contribute to that feeling), good braking.

Wet conditions: much better in the wet, no aquaplaning, good braking .

General notes : soft side wall rubber compound, looks under inflated when pressure at 31 psi ( I always had them in 33 -34), rubber compound prone to deteriorate towards the edge of the tyre - tyre seems not to bear the Greek summer heat conditions and hot asphalt, i( inspite of the fact that car is not parked I'm the open). On the other hand there is low fuel consumption and low noice after 36.000 kms, having tread left as 3.5 mm.

Also, when moved to rear wheels and having ContiPremiumcontact 6 in front, I had no problems whatsover in my EGP rear tyres "to follow" the front CPC6.

In conclusion, I would say this is a decent turing tyre with good performance characteristics, quiet and confy, mostly designed for wet conditions in average European temperature conditions. I wouldn't buy it again because of our country's harsh dry summer conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-04 08:49:51
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
To get an idea, we use the Nokian Winter tires on our rentok Rentok Craiova car rental https://www.rentok.ro and I went for sure with these tires. There are some even better Nokian models, and therefore more expensive, but these have so far been more than enough for our roads and our climate.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-27 23:06:38
Writing about the BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 given 97% (215-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Good tyre in the wet.
Good in the dry, and on snow and ice.
Low fuel consumption.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 18:04:51
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 87% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Great tyres !! Fantastic grip on wet and very good on dry (I think they are a little bit less responsive / accurate in sudden change of course as my previous Good year asymmetric 2). Low noise ,good fuel consumption! The only bad thing is the comfort...not good as my previous Good Year and this is probably because of the firm sidewalls !
I would definitely buy them again!!!
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-16 09:42:39
Writing about the Nokian Line given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
I used those tyres after a set of Goodyear, Tyres grip on dry and wet roads is perfect and more comfortable than last set. Very early to look at the wear but lower noise and excellent sensitivity to steering
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-24 14:31:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre